Keeping up with Karen

Welcome to my blog “keeping up with Karen”

Aptly named you see before the accident that changed my world I was a busy nurse, step mom, athlete – distance runner, equestrian competitor

So yes keeping up with Karen fit.

Now here I am with after many twists, turns of medical journey and diagnosis of traumatic brain injury (TBI) survivor. After months of neuro rehab and gaining skills to help navigate the world to what my “new normal” would be was anyone’s guess…. So it’s exciting to see blog with this title for me now it means I am present, living, showing up if you will in the world – Such a great gift I am awake, alive living not defined, limited by my diagnosis.  There are limitations and frustrations, words do not come or I mix them up aphasia ever present, and not able to multitask in a world that almost requires

it as a pre requisite.  Instead I am fully present to each task, even the smallest….wow what as harp and sudden contrast..  How much I took for granted as a nurse before, able to walk, talk, chew gum….   Now to be fully present with everything I do, such a gift I see my world now with new eyes

Once again I am thrilled to be here, and share my journey, blog with you  

Karen

Leave a comment